Create an Account - Increase your productivity, customize your experience, and engage in information you care about.
Show All Answers
Dispatchers ask a standard set of questions to prioritize your call and determine the response you need. After the dispatcher verifies the location with you, a response is already on the way. The dispatcher knows the address you are calling from, but does not know the address where you need help sent to until you verify that address. You must then answer the additional questions to further help the law enforcement officers, the fire department or the paramedics. The dispatcher relays the pertinent information by radio to the responding units prior to their arrival at the scene. This increases the chances of survival of a medical patient or injured person or the prevention of a crime and/or the apprehension of a suspect.
Twenty-four hour, toll-free, TDD/TTY, telephone access for emergency 911 and non-emergency calls for service as well as prompt handling and routing of misdirected calls.
In order to obtain a $70 voucher, the owner of the pet(s) must live within the City limits and provide proof of address in the form of a current utility, phone, or cable bill. In addition, the owner must provide vaccination records verifying their pet is currently up to date on a rabies vaccination and has a current city license. The vouchers are good for 14 days from the date of issuance so your surgery appointment must be scheduled within the two week window. Please make appointments and any necessary pre-exams with your veterinarian before requesting a voucher. It is not necessary or required to bring your animal to the shelter to obtain a voucher.
Even numbered addresses may water outdoors on Saturdays and Wednesdays.
Odd numbered addresses may water outdoors on Fridays and Tuesdays.
Any violation may result in a fine up to $500.
The current combine sales tax rate is 8% as of October 1, 2017 and is broken down as follows: City Sales Tax Rate = 1.00% Midland Development Corporation = .25% County Sales Tax Rate = .50% State Sales Tax = 6.25%
To obtain a fire or EMS record, please call 432-685-7495 during business hours from 8 a.m. to 5 p.m. Monday through Friday, or fax your request to 432-684-0921.
To obtain a motor vehicle accident report, please call the Midland Police Department at 432-685-7108.
To schedule a group visit to your local fire station, please call 432-685-7436. Families and small groups may visit Central Fire Station without an appointment during business hours outside of 11 a.m. to 1:30 p.m.
Burn bans restrict all outside burning to prevent the spread of wildfire. The Texas Forest Service maintains a list of all burn bans.
Car seat training is currently provided by the Midland Police Department. To schedule a car seat training with a certified specialist, call 432-685-7105.
Recruits are required to attend assigned training and become certified firefighters with the Texas Commission Fire Protection and certified by the Texas Department of State Health Services as an EMT within one year of employment.
Applicants must have at least 15 hours of college credit within the last five years or have obtained minimum scoring levels on college admittance tests. Preference will be given to those applicants who hold the following current certifications:
·National Registry EMT or Paramedic certifications or ·Texas DSHS EMT or Paramedic certifications or ·Texas Commission on Fire Protection Basic Fire Suppression certification or ·Out-of-state fire certification with IFSAC seals.
In addition to the application, candidates must pass a general knowledge written test and firefighter entry-level physical agility test that includes tasks similar to those used in day-to-day tasks. This will be followed by an in-person interview. Interested applicants are encouraged to check the job posting for more qualifications and information.
Midland College runs a firefighter academy annually as well as EMT and Paramedic programs. For more information, please contact Mark Kuhn at 432-685-6757 or visit www.midland.edu.
For more information regarding applications, please call 432-685-7346.
No, the Midland Fire Department will not provide water for pools or tanks.
Midland Fire Department 432-685-7436
53 on duty
Pumper #2: 750-1,000
Tanker #1: 2,500 gallons
Tanker #2: 1,500 gallons
Tanker #3: 1,500 gallons
It will depend on the address
depends on address
depends on the address
Hydrants located in the city, and Tanker/Tenders used for county fires
Residential fire deaths have decreased steadily as the number of homes with smoke detectors has increased. Reports from the National Fire Protection Association on residential fire deaths show that people have nearly a 50 percent better chance of surviving a fire if their home has the recommended number of smoke detectors.
Smoke detectors that are 10 years old are near the end of their service life and should be replaced. A smoke detector monitors the air 24 hours a day. At the end of 10 years, it has gone through over 3.5 million monitoring cycles. After this much use, components may become less reliable. This means that as the detector gets older, the potential of failing to detect a fire increases. Replacing them after 10 years reduces this possibility.
Any firework that must be ignited by a heat source is illegal to possess or discharge. Small items such as "poppers" are not prohibited. Individuals are subject to confiscation of all fireworks found in their possession and a fine up to $2,000 plus court costs.
Fireworks also may not be discharged on federal, state, or county roadways. If individuals plan to discharge fireworks on private property not belonging to them, they must have a written letter of permission from the land owner.
The Midland Fire Department also reminds citizens to use caution when discharging fireworks. Eye and burn injuries are common among children, and they should be supervised by an adult. Devices such as sparklers may reach temperatures exceeding 1,000 degrees.
Grass fires are another potential risk during fireworks season. Have at least one of the following extinguishing agents available while discharging fireworks: water, sand or dirt, or a portable fire extinguisher. Never hesitate to call 911 if a fire develops.
For questions about code enforcement, building codes, construction permits and fees/fee schedules for other departments within the City of Midland, please contact City of Midland's Code Division at 432-685-7391.
3 inches inside city limits and 6 inches in the county
24 to 48 hours
Yes since 2004
Order them through the Knox Company
Dale Little 432-688-4161
Over 75 feet to floor of the highest floor
Picture Identification Shot records (if applicable)Insurance card
HHSC Benefits Office3401 N. A StreetMidland, TX 79705 (432) 687-1591 Health & Human Services Benefits Office
Further, you must drive the vehicle which requires a license to the City of Midland Health Department for a inspection located at 3303 W Illinois Sp 22, ask the clerk for further assistance, as a vehicle inspection is required before the permit can be issued.In addition, to sell at a fixed location, you must do so on commercial property, with a notarized letter of permission from the property owner that also gives you access to restrooms on the property.
A current or former spouse A sibling (brother or sister) A blood relative such as a parent A relative by marriage (an in-law) A person with whom you have a child in common A current roommate A former roommate A foster parent A foster child A person who you are dating or have dated
A person who has a divorce pending is eligible for a protective order. The protective order must be filed in the court in which the divorce is pending. You may also be able to get a protective order against someone who has sexually assaulted you even if they are not a family or household member (like a co-worker or neighbor).
Magistrate’s Order of Emergency ProtectionTemporary Ex Parte OrderPermanent Protective Order
They are good for 31-61 days.
If you partner has been arrested for a family violence assault, you must ask for this before he is released from jail.
You may receive a Temporary Ex Parte Order without your abuser present.
The court can issue a Temporary Ex Parte Order if it decides that the information given in your application for a protective order presents a clear and present danger of family violence to either you or a family member.
A Temporary Ex Parte Order lasts for the period of time specified in the order, usually until the date of your full court hearing. In most places the court will schedule a date for a formal hearing no later than the 14th day after the date the application is filed
A Permanent Protective Order is effective for the time period specified in the order up to a maximum of 2 years. If there is no time period specified in the order, then it expires on the second anniversary of the date the order was issued.
If the Respondent is still incarcerated on the date that the protective order is set to expire, then the expiration date is extended for one year from his date of release.
Yes. The Ride Out program is designed to give interested applicants a firsthand view of what police work is like in Midland, Texas. We recommend riding out on Friday or Saturday nights with an evening shift officer (3 p.m.-3 a.m.) or night shift officer (6 p.m.-6 a.m., 7 p.m.-7 a.m.). The ride along must be scheduled by contacting the recruiting division with at least a week notice.
Yes. Civilian positions like customer service clerk, evidence clerk, records clerk, crime scene technicians, and administrative assistant will open when there is a need to fill the position. Postings for those openings can be found on our
Residents can expect to see utility work beginning in fall and winter of 2017-18. Paving work will begin in spring and summer, 2018.
You can monitor progress on the Project Activity Tracker. Or sign up to receive alerts.
Complete road closures are very rare. In most cases, traffic will be reduced to one lane rather than complete closure. Whenever construction moves into a new area, the City will issue an alert. These alerts will contain alternative route suggestions.
Public safety and well-being is of the utmost importance. The Engineering Department is coordinating closely with the US Postal Service, Waste Management, Police and Fire/EMS. Residents are encouraged to contact the U.S. Postal Service if they experience any delays in mail. Emergency Response services (Police, Fire, and EMS) will always be able to access your residence or business. Likewise, Waste Removal services will continue during road and utility work.
Please contact Jose Ortiz, Engineering Services Director, or Matt Carr, City Engineer.
Any violation may result in a fine up to $500.
The City of Midland Water Waste Water Department has initiated a project to replace its approximately 46,000 water meters. The meters will be replaced with an Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI) system. AMI smart water meters help conservation efforts and ensure a better water future.
Not necessarily. The new meters will record consumption more accurately. In some cases, your bill may increase, but only if your current meter has been under reporting usage.
No. The Advanced Metering Infrastructure (AMI) system is a budget-neutral project. It is anticipated that the cost of the new system will be offset from the money saved from underreporting, leakage, theft of water, and on-site meter reading.
The work began in November 2019. The entire project is estimated to be completed within 18 to 24 months. The work will be performed during normal working hours of 8 am to 5 pm, Monday through Friday.
A contractor will come to your residence and replace your meter. The water meter will be checked to verify that water is presently not in use. If no water is being used, the meter will be replaced. There will be an interruption of service for approximately 10 to 30 minutes during the replacement. After the meter has been replaced, your service will continue as normal. In many cases, the transition will be completely inconspicuous and will not affect the residents.
In most cases, it’s a simple procedure that will require anywhere between 10 to 30 minutes.
No, all meters in our City are located outside of homes. After your water meter is replaced, City employees will flush the line using an outdoor spigot to ensure that no debris is left in the line and subsequently into your sink filters or inside lines.
In most cases, it will not be necessary for anyone to be home. The majority of the work will take place near the street or alleyway in the meter box. If you have any questions or concerns, contact the City of Midland customer service at (432) 685-7320.
In rare instances, the main cutoff valve to your home may be left off. This will occur when the installation team is not able to pressurize your home following the installation. The normal cause of this condition is when an inside spigot is opened during the installation and subsequently left open. The water is not turned back on to ensure a sink or bathtub does not overflow with the resident not home to turn the water off. In these cases, your water will be left off and a notice will be left on your door providing you a point of contact to call to have your water turned back on.
AMI stands for "Advanced Metering Infrastructure." It is a method of using communication technology to read meters remotely without having to access each and every meter located inside meter boxes in the ground.
Advanced meter systems are quickly becoming the standard for utilities around the country. These new devices allow for more accurate and faster collection of water usage readings than the current manual method and improve safety conditions for City staff. Introducing automatic meter reading as the standard for Abilene is one of the ways we can better serve our customers and improve the overall efficiency of the utility department.
No. The radio transmission operates in compliance with the Federal Communications Commission (FCC) regulations to avoid interference with other electronic devices.
Yes. Data transmitted from the meter through the system is encrypted through the entire process.
Verification of the transfer will begin with serial number documentation and data recording. Before the existing meter is removed, the technician will record the actual accumulated consumption numbers, as well as the serial number and property address. The new meter will then be installed.
The bar codes on the new meter and transmitter will be scanned linking that meter with the property address and customer account. Duplicate bar code stickers will be included with the other old meter data in each property file. Once the new meter is activated, usage will begin recording automatically.
Your new meter does not require any maintenance by the homeowner. As before, the City will take care of all maintenance. Please note that your new meter has transmitting technology which automatically sends usage information to our offices. Damage to the transmitting equipment will send an alert to the Water Utilities department prompting an inspection. Please take precaution when caring for your lawn near the lid mounted transmitter.
At this point in time, the City crews are working solely on the installation of the meters and data collection system. Once we’ve tested to insure hardware and software is working properly, we’ll make the data system and all its resources available to the public. We do not currently have an estimate for when this will launch, but information will be provided when we do.
In the meantime, the newly installed water meters will work with our current system, and residents can expect water billing to continue as usual.
We will continually update our website and social media outlets as we progress into new districts and neighborhoods. Check this page to find out what area we are currently servicing.
We are happy to answer any additional questions or concerns you may have. You can call our customer service at (432) 685-7320.
The TCEQ also maintains a Drinking Water Watch website with information about the City of Midland's system at http://dww2.tceq.texas.gov/DWW/. Midland's information can be found by entering "1650001" into the field labeled "Water System No."